Monkey Parlor

… where the monkey ponders about bananas and world domination …

Mind Like Water

leave a comment »

Rowers have a word for this frictionless state: swing… Recall the pure joy of riding on a backyard swing: an easy cycle of motion, the momentum coming from the swing itself. The swing carries us; we do not force it. We pump our legs to drive our arc higher, but gravity does most of the work. We are not so much swinging as being swung. The boat swings you. The shell wants to move fast: Speed sings in its lines and nature. Our job is simply to work with the shell, to stop holding it back with our trashing struggles to go faster. Trying too hard sabotages boat speed. Trying becomes striving and striving undoes itself. Social climber strive to be aristocrats but their efforts prove them no such thing. Aristocrats do not strive; they have already arrived. Swing is a state of arrival.

I understand it. But, I do not comprehend its intricate relation in space and time. For the past few years, I tried to juggle with my priorities. I kept on coming back to the same place and wondered what had gone wrong. I had flashes of ideas, flashes of lights if you may. I saw clearly what was in front of me. Hell, I even saw the big picture. But, I couldn’t see pass it. So the lights had merely passed by left false hopes along the way. It is indeed a delicate balance between existence and vitality, being and doing. The understanding of the core of what and why I desire is the essence of who I am, its executable reduction is what keeps me alive. The human psyche is fragile and foolish. Only through constant care and deliberate lies can we keep it sane. I think I’m starting to comprehend. Mind like water. An action against it inflicts not overreactions nor underreactions. It reflects a sense of control, a coherent harmony between your character and your litheness. I think I’m ready to be ready for anything.

Written by divi

06/08/2006 at 7:36 am

Posted in Thoughts

Leave a Reply

